Don’t Let Baby Break The Bank

By Emma McGowan

I’m officially closer to 30 than 20 these days, a fact that came up on a recent visit home when my mom asked me if I consider myself an adult. (Answer: Duh, Mom!!!) That means that more and more of my friends are tying the knot, popping out the next generation, or both.

But the thing is, both getting married and having a kid costs beaucoup buckaroos, something that a lot of young couples are simply not prepared for. While we usually talk about “first comes love, then comes marriage, then comes the baby in the baby carriage,” I’m an untraditional type so I thought I’d address the baby-having part first.

Okay, I actually decided to talk about it first because Mint published this super awesome infographic that lays out the hard truth for us on exactly what to expect (and what we don’t usually expect) when we’re expecting.

All you parents out there: Can you think of anything they’ve left out? Leave your own unexpected costs in the comments below!

Leave a comment